National Drought Mitigation Center

National Drought Mitigation Center
subscribe to rss

San Juan National Forest in southwestern Colorado closed
6/12/2018 12:00:00 AM

Relief, Response & Restrictions
Archuleta County, CO
Conejos County, CO
Dolores County, CO
Hinsdale County, CO
La Plata County, CO
Mineral County, CO
Montezuma County, CO
Rio Grande County, CO
San Juan County, CO
San Miguel County, CO

Start Date: 6/12/2018 - End Date: 6/21/2018
The San Juan National Forest reopened to visitors on June 21 after rain from the remnants of Hurricane Bud fell, but there were still fire restrictions in effect. It was prohibited to have open fires, smoke outdoors or shoot firearms. Fort Collins Coloradoan, June 21, 2018 The San Juan National Forest was closed to visitors effective June 12, due to the fire danger. The forest closure came as a massive wildfire burning north of Durango doubled in size to roughly 25 square miles on the weekend prior to the forest closing. Fort Collins Coloradoan (Colo.), June 11, 2018